Walter's CV

Introduction

This is my detailed and up-to-date web based Curriculum Vitae, if there is something you cannot find here or if you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me by e-mail (walter@hoffweb.no).

Personal Info

Full name: Walter Midbøe Hoff Nationality: Norwegian
Date of birth: 22.07.79 Telephone: +47 99 63 77 48
Address: Søndregate 12b
0550 Oslo
NORWAY
E-mail: walter@hoffweb.no

Work Experience

Norman (May 2008 - Present)

Managing the QA team and have the overall responsibility for the quality of Norman's IT security products. Established a QA team in India and have been responsible for recruitment and training of the new employees.

Opera Software (March 2004 - April 2008)

Started out in QA at Opera Software's HQ in Oslo and were working on projects for both Opera's desktop browser and on mobile platforms. Gained valuable knowledge about testing methodologies, web standards and mobile technologies. Worked closely with international customers, and were on several occasions working on site with Motorola in Beijing, China.

Involved in establishing a "QA Systems and Processes" team, first doing mainly development of internal QA systems and tools but also managed the team for a six month period, and were responsible for recruitment and process improvements.

Joined the Information Systems department as a system developer in October 2006, and did development and maintenance on internal systems such as systems for project management, HR, intranet and various portals (mainly using Web technologies, Perl, Python and MySQL).

Forsvarets mediesenter (August 2002 - March 2004)

I was engaged as a senior consultant at the Norwegian Army's mediacentre in Oslo, were I first served my compulsory year of service for the Norwegian Army (August 2002 - July 2003). I was involved in maintaining and developing the Norwegian Defence's websites, banner advertising, Customer Relationship Management (CRM) System and handling daily bug/job requests in the Action Request System (Remedy). I used to be the representative for the others soldiers when I was doing my service, and was responsible for arranging meetings, solving problems and being the intermediary between them and management. (References)

Ericsson (August 2001 - July 2002)

I was working within 'Test Configuration Management', where I was developing and maintaining various tools to make the daily life easier for system testers and others who might need it. We were working on both the UNIX and Windows platform, some of my main tasks were developing shell/perl scripts, CGI/web, using various Rational products, and the list goes on. I really enjoyed working within Ericsson's dynamic, demanding and innovative environment!
Unfortunately Ericsson went through massive restructuring and cost-reduction which resulted in that I and a great number of other employees had to leave Ericsson at the end of July 2002. (References)

Education

1998 - 2001 - University of Northumbria at Newcastle upon Tyne (Diploma)

Studied 3 years in England for a Bachelor degree with honours in Information and Communication Management.

1995 - 1998 - Kristiansand Katedralskole

Videregående/allmenn fag (Upper Secondary School) Kristiansand, Norway.

Units and grades from University of Northumbria:
YEAR 1 (average grade: 63.2% of 100%) - view grades
YEAR 2 (average grade: 67.1% of 100%) - view grades
YEAR 3 (average grade: 60.7% of 100%) - view grades

Various courses taken while working at Ericsson (2001/2002):

  • Unix user course
  • Internet Protocols
  • Introduction to Rational Unified Process (RUP)
  • Introduction to Unified Modelling Language (UML)
  • UML/ROSE analyse and design
  • Erlang Programming
  • Intellectual Property Rights
  • Requirement Management light
  • Rational ClearCase Metadata
  • GSM System Survey
  • GPRS System Survey
  • Personal profile

    I can describe myself as hardworking, open minded, disciplined, and trustworthy. I am able to work alone, unsupervised, or as a part of a team.

    Norwegian is my first language, English my second, I also understand and speak some German, and of course understand the nordic languanges, Swedish and Danish.

    I currently live in Oslo, the capital of Norway, but have lived three years abroad, in Newcastle, UK, where I studied for my bachelor's degree in Information and Communication Management. I was also the chief information officer in the Norwegian Society - an organisation for the Norwegian students in Newcastle (References).

    I started my own company in 2000, hoffWEB, and have done some comercial web development, but is no longer very active due to more responsibilities and duties in my main job.

    Future aims

    I love to have a job were I can use my knowledge and skills but also be able to develop. I enjoy travelling and want to explore as much as possible of the world.

    References

    On request...